Product detail

New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics

New York Trilogy: Faber Modern Classics

Author: Paul Auster
Series: Faber Modern Classics Ser.
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 1
Description

The New York Trilogy is perhaps the most astonishing work by one of America's most consistently astonishing writers. The Trilogy is three cleverly interconnected novels that exploit the elements of standard detective fiction and achieve a new genre that is all the more gripping for its starkness. It is a riveting work of detective fiction worthy of Raymond Chandler, and at the same time a profound and unsettling existentialist enquiry in the tradition of Kafka or Borges. In each story the search for clues leads to remarkable coincidences in the universe as the simple act of trailing a man ultimately becomes a startling investigation of what it means to be human. The New York Trilogy is the modern novel at its finest: a truly bold and arresting work of fiction with something to transfix and astound every reader. "Marks a new departure for the American novel." (Observer). "A shatteringly clever piece of work...Utterly gripping, written with an acid sharpness that leaves an indelible dent in the back of the mind." (Sunday Telegraph). "The New York Trilogy established him as the only author one could compare to Samuel Beckett." (Guardian).

Promotion info

This new edition of Paul Auster's classic The New York Trilogy, issued into the launch list of Faber Modern Classics, publishing in April 2015.

Author description

Paul Auster is the best-selling author of Invisible, Moon Palace, Mr Vertigo, The Brooklyn Follies, The Book of Illusions and The New York Trilogy, among many other works. In 2006 he was awarded the Prince of Asturias Prize for Literature and inducted into the American Academy of Arts and Letters. Among his other honours are the Independent Spirit Award for the screenplay of Smoke and the Prix Medicis Etranger for Leviathan. He has also been short-listed for both the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award (The Book of Illusions) and the PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction (The Music of Chance). His work has been translated into more than thirty languages. He lives in Brooklyn, New York.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780571322800
  • : Faber & Faber
  • : Faber & Faber Fiction
  • : April 2015
  • : 198mm X 129mm X 24mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Paul Auster
  • : 320
  • : 813.54
  • : English
  • : Faber Modern Classics
  • : Paperback